You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 19, 2009.

Have you noticed how in fashion embroidery is at the moment? I have been doing a little bit of trend spotting recently and there are some fab garments out there. These pics were taken in Asda yesterday – we were out for the day in Doncaster visiting an exhibition (of dinosaur models not stitching!) and popped in to get some lunch and I was amazed by the amount of beautiful stitchery on garments.

At the risk of embaressing Jake (hey what are parents for!) I took these of just a few of the clothes on display.

A peasant style top

A peasant style top

 

Beautiful embroidery on a shirt

Beautiful embroidery on a shirt

Embroidery round a collar

Embroidery round a collar

A real back to the sixties ethnic look

A real back to the sixties ethnic look

Unfortunately I did not buy any of these as none of them were really what I wanted in terms of the garment style – lots of short puffy sleeves and loose tunics which do not suit me- but loved the fact that there was so much stitching around. Obviously this is all machine stitched but still very pretty and may inspire more people to take up the needle and create for themselves!

I can now post pics of the Valentine’s card that I made for Stefon since it is no longer a secret. The design comes from the sampler ‘ I still do’ by Inkcircles and I attached a little heart charm as well. It is stitched on sparkly white Aida with Silk Mill dark blue thread.

Valentine's card

Valentine's card

Wonderful daughter Ellie has just come back from a short trip to Bruges with two friends for the friend’s 18th birthday. She had a great time and was very impressed by the lace work there and as a present bought me this very cute little wine waiter outfit for my wine bottles made of Brussels lace.
Wine bottle cover

Wine bottle cover

I think that it just so cute and hopefully we can all go to Bruges one day and admire more lace (there is also beer and lots of chocolate so sounds like a fun place!).
February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Blog Stats

  • 210,878 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers